July 06, 2020, 05:26:30 pm
News: IF YOU ARE A MEMBER FROM THE ORIGINAL SITE AND CAN'T LOGIN. POST IN THE FEEDBACK FORUM (AS GUEST) AND AN ADMIN WILL ASSIST YOU TO ACCESS THE SITE!
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Lost Topic Title  (Read 770 times)
Slowhand
Supporters
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Awards:
Topic Necromancer
Posts: 4668


I code C#!


WWW
« on: May 13, 2004, 06:39:29 pm »

Hi,

Can someone verify that this motherboard:

Gigabyte Intel GA-8I848E-L

needs a 300 watt power supply?

The people from the shop told me, but I can't find any info about it on the web.

Cheers,

CJ
Logged


simmo
Administrator
*

Stars: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8551



« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2004, 06:48:56 pm »

I'm not that much of a hardware person but I have never heard anything like that before.
Logged

                 ..... .....

Slowhand
Supporters
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Awards:
Topic Necromancer
Posts: 4668


I code C#!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2004, 07:14:25 pm »

Well, I currently have a 250 watt power supply. But the new motherboard didn't work, so I sent it back. And the company tested it after they received it, and they say it works perfect there, as long as I use a 300 watt power supply.. dunno
Logged


maaxiim
Full Member
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 146



WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2004, 07:17:58 pm »

Maybe this link will help:



or at least this one:



If you like being talked to like a 3 year old, then you'll love this link:



it does at least mention that GB recommends 350W power supplies....
« Last Edit: May 13, 2004, 08:00:04 pm by maaxiim » Logged

Chris
Founders
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3312


MIA


« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2004, 07:44:30 pm »

Quote
Well, I currently have a 250 watt power supply.
damn...don't scrimp on PSU power, get a 350 thumb_yello
Logged

When the Bogeyman goes to sleep every night, nothing happens.

Slowhand
Supporters
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Awards:
Topic Necromancer
Posts: 4668


I code C#!


WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2004, 07:45:56 pm »

Quote
damn...don't scrimp on PSU power, get a 350 thumb_yello
That's not harmfull for the MB?
Logged


Chris
Founders
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3312


MIA


« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2004, 07:51:45 pm »

no, it takes what it needs
Logged

When the Bogeyman goes to sleep every night, nothing happens.

maaxiim
Full Member
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 146



WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2004, 07:52:25 pm »

Thats what it recommends in the Gigabyte DIY manual...
Logged

Slowhand
Supporters
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Awards:
Topic Necromancer
Posts: 4668


I code C#!


WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2004, 07:56:10 pm »

Ok.

In that case, I'll get a 350 watt one tomorrow..

Thanks guys thumb_yello
Logged


Chris
Founders
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3312


MIA


« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2004, 07:58:32 pm »

Well that's the recommended; a higher powered one won't hurt, especially if you have a lot of devices. Make sure it's a decent make; generic ones don't necessarily reach their rated wattage
« Last Edit: May 13, 2004, 07:59:33 pm by Chris » Logged

When the Bogeyman goes to sleep every night, nothing happens.

maaxiim
Full Member
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 146



WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2004, 07:59:49 pm »

Sorry, possible mixup there; I was referring to the 350W recommendation in the DIY manual smile
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to: