October 30, 2020, 08:15:02 pm
News: If someone gives you assistance give them a Good Star
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Cross-platform networking...  (Read 5356 times)
rjlohan
Founders
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2355



WWW
« on: November 24, 2002, 11:10:07 pm »

Win2K -] RedHat 7.1... what do I need to do?

The Windows machine is far superior performance-wise to the Linux one (not that you\'d know it after 5 minutes of Windows work...  )...

I have the hardware - they used to be networked in a Windows enviro, but I Linux-ed the older one (since Windows couldn\'t cope with anything older than itself), now I want to hook them up again...

Start me from the basics.
Logged

---------------------------------------
-RJ Lohan
Ryan.J.Lohan@student.uts.edu.au
---------------------------------------
"Second?!? That's just a fancy word for 'loser'!!"
---------------------------------------

parksie
Retired Member
*

Stars: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 7732



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2002, 11:12:59 pm »

Ok. You need to make sure there are drivers for the network card in your GNU/Linux box. There should be, since NICs are about the best supported after keyboards

How did you have them set up when you were using Windows?
Logged

Unless stated otherwise, everything posted above is my opinion, and mine alone. If you can't work that out you're wasting my time...

rjlohan
Founders
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2355



WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2002, 11:15:42 pm »

The Windows network was pissant - I just set up the Win2K machine as a server, and the other as a client. It really didn\'t require much brain-power, just alot of point-n-click.

Networking is a real weak-point of mine...
Logged

---------------------------------------
-RJ Lohan
Ryan.J.Lohan@student.uts.edu.au
---------------------------------------
"Second?!? That's just a fancy word for 'loser'!!"
---------------------------------------

parksie
Retired Member
*

Stars: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 7732



WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2002, 11:24:47 pm »

Oh. Did you give them both static IP addresses (private ones) on your local net?
Logged

Unless stated otherwise, everything posted above is my opinion, and mine alone. If you can't work that out you're wasting my time...

rjlohan
Founders
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2355



WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2002, 11:29:19 pm »

Point n\' click, baby.

I dunno. I understand the concepts somewhat, I just didn\'t have to use them in this case. Wizards and all that you know...


Does that affect what I do from here?
Logged

---------------------------------------
-RJ Lohan
Ryan.J.Lohan@student.uts.edu.au
---------------------------------------
"Second?!? That's just a fancy word for 'loser'!!"
---------------------------------------

zaei
Supporters
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 851



« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2002, 12:05:25 am »

Mandrake comes with a Samba wizard (Samba is the suite that does the Linux-]Windows networking).

Z.
Logged


rjlohan
Founders
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2355



WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2002, 12:07:07 am »

And if I don\'t have Mandrake (or a fast enough net connection to try downloading it...) ?
Logged

---------------------------------------
-RJ Lohan
Ryan.J.Lohan@student.uts.edu.au
---------------------------------------
"Second?!? That's just a fancy word for 'loser'!!"
---------------------------------------

zaei
Supporters
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 851



« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2002, 12:09:33 am »





Z.
Logged


rjlohan
Founders
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2355



WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2002, 12:10:57 am »

Cool thanks.

I still wouldn\'t mind learning a little more about networking though...
Logged

---------------------------------------
-RJ Lohan
Ryan.J.Lohan@student.uts.edu.au
---------------------------------------
"Second?!? That's just a fancy word for 'loser'!!"
---------------------------------------

zaei
Supporters
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 851



« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2002, 12:14:25 am »

Plug the wire into the blinking box with the other wires  

Do a search on what you want to know, followed by the word \"HOWTO\" in google, and you should turn some stuff up  =)

Z.
Logged


rjlohan
Founders
*

Stars: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2355



WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2002, 12:16:27 am »

Dammit, must I do everything myself?












Logged

---------------------------------------
-RJ Lohan
Ryan.J.Lohan@student.uts.edu.au
---------------------------------------
"Second?!? That's just a fancy word for 'loser'!!"
---------------------------------------

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to: