July 16, 2018, 04:45:28 am
News: IF YOU ARE A MEMBER FROM THE ORIGINAL SITE AND CAN'T LOGIN. POST IN THE FEEDBACK FORUM (AS GUEST) AND AN ADMIN WILL ASSIST YOU TO ACCESS THE SITE!
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: [GUIDE] Decide your hourly rate?  (Read 1765 times)
wrack
Master of TMEOotAP

Stars: +3/-0

Don't look back. Look in the mirror to look back.

« on: April 03, 2010, 04:54:45 am »

All right then, the question is quite simple. The answer is not so simple but tricky.

How do you decide your hourly rate? How do you justify it? Doesn't matter what field you are working in, just use the expense & other factors related to your field.

For the record I am a senior developer so I am going to use factors related to me.

I am going to use a $100000/Year + Super as a base [NOT MY REAL SALARY, JUST A NICE ROUND NUMBER].

For consistency letís say you are working full time and you want to leave that to be working on $/Hr basis. Basically become a full time contractor.

Letís start with $100000 base salary. In Australia we get 9% standard Superannuation. So that is $9000/Year on top of the base salary. You get 4 week of paid leaves. 2 weeks of sick leaves. 10 days of public holidays. Workday is 7.6 Hours (Whatever time you take for lunch is on top of that). 5 days a week. 2-3 weeks for training and getting to know new things.

So out of 52 weeks in a year, one can take 4 (Paid leave) + 2 (Sick leave) + 2 (Public holidays) + 3 (Self Training), one would need to work 41 week in a year to earn $100000 + 9% Super. My work pays for road toll so if I am contracting then it's my own expense. Based on those numbers there are 1558 Hours in a year one has to work to earn that money (7.6 Hours/Day * 5 Day/Week * 41 Work Weeks/Year).

So the way I would calculate my hourly rate is:

$100000 Base Salary
$9000 Superannuation
$3000 Road Toll
$4000 Fuel
$4000 Parking