December 14, 2019, 09:23:39 pm
News: If someone gives you assistance give them a Good Star
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: Windows Vista Aero  (Read 6913 times)
Sue
Old Timer
*

Stars: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2215



« on: January 12, 2010, 03:57:02 pm »

What is happening?  Vista Aero disappeared and I have no clue why.  All scans show all is well.  The software name is there but the theme is not.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2010, 03:59:07 pm by Sue » Logged

Sailing across the sea from Lothlorien....

simmo
Administrator
*

Stars: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8537



« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2010, 04:02:19 pm »

What happens if you select "Windows Areo" in the "Appearance Settings" window?
Logged

                 ..... .....

Sue
Old Timer
*

Stars: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2215



« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2010, 04:10:08 pm »

Thats what it is showing there.  I have the highlight lower so you can clearly see that Aero is there...

I restarted my computer just now and now the Aero name is also missing. Sad
Logged

Sailing across the sea from Lothlorien....

simmo
Administrator
*

Stars: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8537



« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2010, 04:24:08 pm »

Make sure the following services are running:

Themes
Desktop Windows Manager

(Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services)
Logged

                 ..... .....

Sue
Old Timer
*

Stars: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2215



« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2010, 04:33:57 pm »

Look what my control panel looks like now?  And the sounds wont stay turned off either. Sad
Logged

Sailing across the sea from Lothlorien....

Sue
Old Timer
*

Stars: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2215



« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2010, 04:35:39 pm »

After a restart you can see the Aero window for Firefox has returned but everything else is a mess.  My fonts and sounds etc...
Logged

Sailing across the sea from Lothlorien....

simmo
Administrator
*

Stars: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8537



« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2010, 04:37:40 pm »

did you check to see if that service is running?
Logged

                 ..... .....

Sue
Old Timer
*

Stars: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2215



« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2010, 04:44:53 pm »

Yes...Im sending you print screens
Logged

Sailing across the sea from Lothlorien....

Sue
Old Timer
*

Stars: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2215



« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2010, 04:47:06 pm »

2
Logged

Sailing across the sea from Lothlorien....

Sue
Old Timer
*

Stars: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2215



« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2010, 04:47:46 pm »

3
Logged

Sailing across the sea from Lothlorien....

Sue
Old Timer
*

Stars: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2215



« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2010, 04:48:39 pm »

4
Logged

Sailing across the sea from Lothlorien....

Sue
Old Timer
*

Stars: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2215



« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2010, 04:49:58 pm »

I dont see it. Sad
Logged

Sailing across the sea from Lothlorien....

simmo
Administrator
*

Stars: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8537



« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2010, 04:53:32 pm »

It's in your 1st screen, the 2nd item starting with "D". And unfortuantly it is running, meaning thats not the issue, how about:

checking that your system is using 32 bit colors. (Sometimes is gets set by a program to use 16 bit and left the system as such.)

Control Panel > Personalization > Display Settings

or you can right-click on your desktop and select Personalization > Display Settings.
Logged

                 ..... .....

Sue
Old Timer
*

Stars: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2215



« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2010, 05:02:08 pm »

No its running the 32 bit. I checked that right away.  Its doing everything weird as if there was a virus that changed everything but Ive nothing showing up after any scans I do using various programs. 

The only weird thing that happened over the past 3 days was that I was online on web-cam with a family member , using a tiny fraction of my wide screen monitor, and my desktop started to go all digital pixilated and then phantom shapes like ghost frames of windows started to show up and vibrate...it got to the point I had couldn't use see to use my monitor at all with any picture quality so I restarted the computer.  It reminded me of radio interference we used to get on TV's many years ago.

Anyway...then my mouse started to not be able to right click and it slowly died after one day....

It seems as if the computer has a ghost trying to be mischievous or something...it was working find...I didn't do anything at all to it and suddenly it started acting funny.
Logged

Sailing across the sea from Lothlorien....

Sue
Old Timer
*

Stars: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2215



« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2010, 05:05:09 pm »

The activity that you suggested above in your last post was exactly what I had done a few times and hence posted you the first print screen of the results. smile  Its still doing the same thing.  Its not appearing like it has since I got my computer and the proper way Vista is supposed to be showing.  My themes are missing and the one I have been given without my permission isn't displaying as it should. It looks old style.
Logged

Sailing across the sea from Lothlorien....

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to: