October 30, 2020, 06:51:34 pm
News: If someone gives you assistance give them a Good Star
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Calling Visual Studio Gurus for a quick question  (Read 3523 times)
Jason Reed
Administrator
*

Stars: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4543


Pure Evil Administrator


WWW
« on: February 18, 2008, 07:19:45 am »

I summon the almighty gurus of Visual Studio 2008 to ask a simple question ...

I know that Visual Studio 2008 is suppose to allow you to target different .NET versions. However, does it allow you to program for multiple versions at the same time? I mean say you wrote one program and compile it can the compiled exe run on say 2.0 and 1.1 if 2.0 is not installed?
Logged

-- signature --

Martin Wallace
Founders
*

Stars: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3602


God is dead, I have surpassed him.


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2008, 09:16:46 am »

The CLR Interpretor allready does that I believe.
Logged

Every time god kills an angel, I masturbate.

Jason Reed
Administrator
*

Stars: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4543


Pure Evil Administrator


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2008, 09:28:16 am »

So basically you don't have to make a separate compile for each version of .NET? That would make things simpler.

I'm planning on installing the VS 2008 on my wife's computer (she has XP and I don't Sad ) then I can start working with it for some stuff Grin So I wanted to know if I have wrote the program in 2008 using .NET 3.5 and then try to run it on my Win2000 Machine using .NET 2.0 if there would be a problem.
Logged

-- signature --

Martin Wallace
Founders
*

Stars: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3602


God is dead, I have surpassed him.


WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2008, 10:49:05 am »

I'm a little rusty on the specifics - I used to have a link that explained it, but can't find it at the moment.

You might want to investigate 'Side-by-Side Execution' on MSDN.

That being said - isn't it possible to install the 3.5 runtimes on win 2000?
Logged

Every time god kills an angel, I masturbate.

Jason Reed
Administrator
*

Stars: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4543


Pure Evil Administrator


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2008, 11:02:15 am »

Oh I might be able to do that but I figure why clutter up the computer with .net 3.5 when I can't program to it on this computer. I can't use VS 2008 on Win2000 it must be XP or up, so I'm not sure I really see the point of adding the runtimes until a program I want to use needs them Grin
Logged

-- signature --

wrack
Master of TMEOotAP
*

Stars: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 11116


Don't look back. Look in the mirror to look back.


WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2008, 11:47:04 am »

No you can't compile a program with 3.5 and run it on Windows 2000 with 2.0. You have to have .NET Framework 3.5 installed to be able to run it. Here comes a trouble, .NET Framework 3.5 isn't compatible with Windows 2000 so it's XP or above for 3.5 framework.

Or you can set it to make with 2.0 and then use it with Windows 2000 and above. I am currently in the same situation where I have to make a program which runs on Windows 2000 and above so I had to drop 3.5 and settle on 2.0
Logged

Jason Reed
Administrator
*

Stars: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4543


Pure Evil Administrator


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2008, 12:01:57 pm »

You would think MS would make things backward compatible Wink
Logged

-- signature --

wrack
Master of TMEOotAP
*

Stars: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 11116


Don't look back. Look in the mirror to look back.


WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2008, 10:54:43 pm »

Yeah one would think but then Windows 2000 is about 9 years old now and 3.5 was a good move forward. I still prefer that 3.5 .NET Framework should have been 2000 compatible but there is nothing I can do about it.

I have started giving advice to my clients to upgrade to XP if they want to me code for them.
Logged

Jason Reed
Administrator
*

Stars: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4543


Pure Evil Administrator


WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2008, 07:28:33 am »

Hopefully my company will be able to get me a new laptop soon. This one is just about dead. If they do I'm sure it'll be running XP and then it won't be so bad Wink
Logged

-- signature --

Martin Wallace
Founders
*

Stars: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3602


God is dead, I have surpassed him.


WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2008, 08:59:17 am »

Hopefully my company will be able to get me a new laptop soon. This one is just about dead. If they do I'm sure it'll be running XP and then it won't be so bad Wink

Or Vista  Evil
Logged

Every time god kills an angel, I masturbate.

Jason Reed
Administrator
*

Stars: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4543


Pure Evil Administrator


WWW
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2008, 09:20:41 am »

Nope.

My company will only deploy XP until they update our management software. Basically they don't want to pay the price for the newest version which is Vista compatible Grin
Logged

-- signature --

wrack
Master of TMEOotAP
*

Stars: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 11116


Don't look back. Look in the mirror to look back.


WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2008, 11:22:49 pm »

It always comes down to a piece of software which holds the process of upgrade smile
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to: